18 Months Old!

I’m sad to report that I no longer have babies. I have toddlers! Where did my babies go? And yes, I’ve soaked up all the baby love I can get–knowing it only lasts so long–but my babies are already gone?

I have to admit, this toddler thing is even better than the baby stage. I absolutely love that my “babies” can give me hugs and kisses, perform commands, communicate somewhat, and think (or at least try to think). Watching them try to figure something out is amazingly fun entertainment. I understand now why people say 1.5-3 years are the best ages. They can talk somewhat but not too much. They can think somewhat but not too much. They can be their own people but not too much.

I’m super excited to write this update because I have almost nothing but positive things to say!

Ellisa's Modeling Pose

Ellisa's Modeling Pose

Hudson Making His GQ Look

Hudson Making His GQ Look

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Ellisa is doing amazingly well!  She’s walking and running like most toddlers her age and learning more words and commands daily. She even started saying a few real words recently. She is our little entertainer and is constantly making us laugh with her facial expressions, dancing, and evil-eye. She loves looking at books and is constantly surprising me at how many things she can point to.

Some of her favorite things to do are ride her rocking horse, swing at the park, climb the stairs, “read”, and go for walks in the wagon. She loves her blankie and her baby doll most of all. Some things Ellisa does not like are slides, bikes, anyone touching her face or head, wearing bows, dropping her own drink, and veggies (that goes without saying).

She loves handing me things, putting blocks in boxes/bags, organizing and piling her food, and collecting as many of the same thing as her little hands can carry. She’s figured out how to push buttons and understands cause and effect a lot better than before. Miss socialite loves to wave “hi” and “bye” and she’s constantly stealing smiles from strangers we pass by on walks and park visits.

She loves to steal toys from her brother, chase him around the island in the kitchen, play hide-n-seek in the curtains, and as always: dance! She always thinks everyone is trying to chase her so if she’s running away from you, that’s why. It’s adorable to watch her face get excited and the fire spark under her feet as she watches you approach her.

She’s becoming a biter and I’m trying my hardest to stop this behavior before it gets bad. She’ll even bite herself when she’s frustrated. We’ve been working on it a couple of weeks and she has gotten better. She’s also gotten a bit more temperamental, especially at doctor’s offices. I’m actually happy about this as it’s a normal developmental reaction at this age.

As for her development, I still have my concerns but I’m much more optimistic than ever and I’m no longer worrying about much until the doctor’s tell me I should. Instead, I’m simply enjoying Ellisa for everything she is.

Ellisa
Weight: 20.8 lbs, 24% (17% up from 15 months)
Height: 30.75″, 20% (10% up from 15 months)
Head Circumference: 42 cm, <2% (same)
I’m skeptical of this number as according to it, her head hasn’t grown in over 3 months (41.5 cm at her 12 month check-up). Regardless, it’s not growing much. I’m obviously concerned but understand that there is nothing I can other than watch and support her development.

 

How I See Ellisa

How I See Ellisa

Evil-Eyed Ellisa

Evil-Eyed Ellisa

Ellisa Laughing

Ellisa Laughing

Hudson’s big accomplishment the last three months is speech. His first word came around 17 months and since then he is now up to over 20+ expressive words and 14+ signs. I’m amazed at how many words and signs he is picking up since his first real word. I think he would actually know more signs if I would learn more, too. He knows almost all the ones I do. That’s something I’ll be working on in the next few months.

His attention to games, toys, and figuring things out is growing and it’s clear he is ALL boy. He is either trying to put something together, take it apart, or climb all over it. There is the occasional interest in bows and cute shoes, but who doesn’t like a pair of hot pink booties?

On the other side, he is getting super sweet and becoming quite the momma’s boy. He is wonderful to cuddle with and gives the best hugs. He likes it when I sing to him and I love it when he signs “more” after I finish.

He’s beginning to show some attitude but I simply ignore it. He cries at the drop of a hat if he doesn’t get his way and he’s always testing his boundaries. I don’t know how many times I’ve told him not to go into the pantry (“Off limits!”), but he keeps doing it. He knows he’s not supposed to but he can’t resist when he sees his snacks. He cries before bed for a good 5 minutes but after that he is out cold. Otherwise, he’s pretty good.

Some of the things he loves is playing outside, going down slides, climbing all over playscapes, “reading”, looking at the ipad with daddy, and taking a bath. He will actually start to say “Da Bath” when dinner is over. Some things he hates are swings (he’s simply terrified of swinging), diaper changes, putting on his clothes, paint (not sure why he’s so scared of paint), and veggies (that goes without saying).

Hudson
Weight: 24.8 lbs, 30% (same)
Height: 33.25″, 70% (20% up for 15 months)
Head Circumference: 48.2 cm, 60% (same)

Cute Hud

Cute Hud

Hudson's Hair Full of Rice

Hudson's Hair Full of Rice

Silly Hud

Silly Hud

The weather has been wonderful the last three months. Our winter was extremely mild and we have spent almost every day outside at some point. Normally we go on 2-3 play dates a week, usually in the afternoons, and most days I take them for walks in the morning. If the weather is cold or rainy, I’ll open up the garage, set up the gate, and we’ll get some fresh air that way. It’s super nice and safe, plus the best part is I don’t have to worry about a mess being made.

I’ve got a great schedule down now and if only they would nap like they are supposed to (2-3 hrs), I would be able to get everything done.

Napping hasn’t been ideal. Normally they are sleeping 12 hours a night and then Hudson will nap 1 hour and Ellisa 1.5 hours once a day. It’s killing me that they aren’t napping longer and I’m hoping it’s just them getting used to going from two naps to one. I’m afraid this may be how they are.

The best part of the last three months is watching how the twins “play” together. They really do love to be around each other and I am constantly catching them hanging out laughing together. If only I could catch those moments on film as they are some of the best moments to see. I’ve started to notice how they are beginning to “feel” sympathy for each other. If one cries from pain, the other one might come in the room to see if they’re okay. They might even join in on crying. This is most likely coming out of fear but it’s still super cute.

The weather is getting warmer and the sun is out longer. We’ve got a wild few months ahead of us. I can’t wait to see what happens!

Comments
2 Responses to “18 Months Old!”
  1. Lucy says:

    i think the twins have an exceptional mother! Dad must be pretty good too! Sounds like twins are thriving. Wish you were in PV so I can see them. Say, “hi” to all the families. Love, lucy

  2. Joe says:

    Congrats on reaching “toddlerhood”! I wish I could see them in person more often, but it makes me even more thankful for the website. Keep the posts coming!

Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

