Managing Twins: 6-9 months

I started writing this months ago and finally finished. I should have posted this 6 months ago. I apologize. What is it with my last two posts being way off date?

– – – – – – – – – – – –

This was my biggest period of not knowing what to do. By the end of 9 months, I got on a really good schedule that for the most part lasted up to 12 months and beyond. Prior to that, it was a headache trying to figure out what worked best. It seemed as soon as I got them on a good schedule, a week later I would have to revise it. I think the reason for the inconsistency was due to their motor skills and development improving rapidly at this age. They rollover like champs, begin to crawl, stand, and basically are allowed more and  more freedoms with what seems to be every week. This new freedom keeps them on their toes, literally. And who wants to sleep when they can play play play?

The thing to keep in mind is that I always tried my hardest to keep the twins on the SAME schedule. One never slept shorter or longer than 30 minutes from the other, and they always ate at the same time. With twins, I don’t know how you can do it any other way.

As for the schedule, I won’t bore you with all the details, but if you’re really interested, check out an older post; A DAY IN THE LIFE: A MOM OF 9 MONTH OLD TWINS. The schedule in that entry pretty much sums it up.

Feeding: This is the time period when we started solids. We started with cereal and slowly added 2-3 new foods a week–usually one fruit and one vegetable. I made all their baby food at home minus the store-bought flake cereal (barley/wheat/rice).

Making baby food is so easy. I highly recommend it. What surprised me about it was how fast babies move on from pureed foods. You really don’t have to make that much (3 months worth) before they want something more substantial. Of course, they both were unsure of solids when we started but came around pretty fast.

Hudson seemed to have more extreme reactions to new foods, yet I’m still not sure if it was the texture or taste that turned him off. Ellisa seemed to like almost everything, and was my model baby during these months. These months were Ellisa’s best feeding months of her first year going from the 5% to the 25% in weight. I should have known that wouldn’t last long as she became impossible to spoon and bottle feed after 9 months–almost to the day.

We started with one meal a day and worked our way to two by 9 months. At that point Ellisa was eating two full meals and drinking close to 24 ounces a day (more than she has ever drank). Hudson on the other hand did okay with his meals but didn’t have a problem drinking 32+ ounces a day. That boy couldn’t get enough milk!

Because they were pretty good with spoon-feeding, I would use bibs and there wouldn’t normally be too much clean up. Towards the end this period, they were feeding themselves, meaning momma had a mess on her hands. And her clothes. And her floors. And her babies! That’s when we went from cute clothes every day to naked babies and 2-3 sink baths. Yeah, times two. That’s 6 baths a day. And for this mom it was more of a hose down. I would put their Bumbos in the sink, sit them down, hose them off, soap them up real quick if it was needed, and rinse. Done in less than 5 minutes. Of course there were the exceptions like when Ellisa is having the time of her life playing with water. You have to take in those moments.

Nursing: Hudson and Ellisa were both still being breast feed, or at least getting breast milk. I wanted to breast feed both of them until 1 year if not longer, but things just didn’t end up that way. As the months went by, they were getting less and less breast milk. By 10 months, they both were solely on formula. Something I thought I would never give my kids.

When Hudson began crawling, he no longer had the desire to sit and nurse. He wanted to constantly be on the move. He weened himself pretty fast and had no problem drinking from the bottle. Since I was dealing with twins, my doctor recommended giving Hudson one bottle a day from the get-go so he wouldn’t only drink from the breast. What that does is allows daddy, a grandparent, etc.. the ability to help feed every now and then. Plus, I enjoyed taking breaks so that I could breast feed just one baby at a time vs. tandem. It’s much more enjoyable for both parties. I think this is the reason he easily adapted to bottle feeding.
Ellisa has never been a good drinker. When she nursed it was never for long (5-10 minutes) and I always thought she wasn’t getting enough. I still don’t really know how much she was getting. Once Hudson and her got bigger, and she got more aware of her surroundings, she just simply refused the breast. I’m still not sure what it was exactly but bottle feeding her wasn’t any easier. It was a huge struggle and easily the hardest thing we’ve had to deal with aside from her hospital time in NICU. So, she got a mixture of formula and breast milk for a while until she began refusing to drink the breast milk. I’m still not sure what turned her off. Once that happened, I decided to stop pumping. It was a lot of work for a little milk, and just didn’t seem to be worth it. Ellisa was drinking strawberry, vanilla, and banana Pediasure all day every day by 9 months. I hated it as her diet seemed to be the only thing I could control to help her growth and development improve. I was shattered by this.
Activities: Around 8 months in May, we started taking the twins to the pool. They’ve both had their good days and bad days there, but overall, they’ve loved it and it’s been a great experience for them both. They both love splashing and kicking. Hudson likes to chill and relax while being held on a floaty and Ellisa likes leaping into someone’s arms while sitting on the edge of the pool. They look too cute in their suits and hats. We would even dunk them once or twice a visit to get them used to holding their breath. It was super scary at first but babies really do it. Of course, I don’t think they were under water for more than 2 seconds.

Other than going to the pool, we didn’t do much these months. Walks were sparse in the evenings and weekend trips to the park were taken occasionally. It was just too hot to go outside! A normal day was spent upstairs in the morning, downstairs in the afternoon, and back upstairs for the evening. I wish I could have gotten them out more. It was either too hot or too much hassle.

Comments
One Response to “Managing Twins: 6-9 months”
  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing! They look so small in some of these photos, they are growing so fast. Can’t wait to see them (and the two Purma adults) tonight!

Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

