Say Goodbye to PT

Ellisa and Mary Elizabeth

Ellisa and Mary Elizabeth

I love love love Ellisa’s physical therapist. She positive, upbeat, honest when needs to be, and best of all knows exactly what she is doing. Plus, she actually works and interacts with Ellisa. Can you imagine (sarcastic tone inserted here)?

I got extremely lucky when Mary Elizabeth showed up for Ellisa’s first PT appointment back in December of 2010. Since then we’ve been seeing her fairly regularly until around August of this year when she recommended waiting for Ellisa to start walking before our next appointment. Actually, she knew then that she didn’t need to come back ever, but I wanted her to see Ellisa one last time. She needs to see the outcome of her hard work and how it makes a difference in the lives of the children and parents she works with. Only 3 months after Hudson, Ellisa began to walk.

She came over today for our last visit and not to my surprise told us she doesn’t need to see us anymore. Ellisa is looking great. I’m sad our relationship has come to an end, but woo hoo, no more physical therapy! And the doctors weren’t sure if she’d ever walk. I’m glad I worried about that for a year.

We thank you Mary Elizabeth for all you do! I’ll be sure to send you Ellisa’s dissertation in 20 years on Listeria and Neuroscience: How Infants Easily Overcome This Radical Bacteria. Wink!

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Another lesson I’ve learned in the last year is when a therapist,
or doctor, tells you your child WILL do something, they will. Trust them*.

– – – – – – – – – – – –

*Mary Elizabeth told me the first time she saw Ellisa that she didn’t have CP and that she would one day walk–no doubt. I was skeptical. Ellisa was only 3 months old adjusted age at the time.

Comments
3 Responses to “Say Goodbye to PT”
  1. MEP says:

    While goodbye is always hard it makes me realize how lucky I am to do what I do for a living!

  2. Joseph says:

    Very nice of you to have her over. I am sure she much appreciated seeing the brighter side of a case for once. I hope you guys stay in touch a bit!

  3. Sarah says:

    What a cute photo of Ellisa! Smiley baby!

Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

