Weaning Hudson off the Bottle

Hudson loved his bottle. Bot was is first unreal word. As soon as I would open the door to the nursery in the morning he would look at me, barely peeking over his crib, point to the bottle in my hand, and say “bot.” Nice to see you too, Hud.

I thought weaning him would be hard. I was told that he would probably have to go cold turkey since he was so dependent on it and life at home would be hell for 3-4 days. Yeah, Hudson had his moments–screaming at the top of his lungs, constantly pointing to the place his bottle usually sat, saying “bot” over and over, kicking his legs. You know, the typical tantrum of a 12 month old. But they were few and far between. I think he figured out pretty fast that mommy wasn’t going to give in and it was drink from a cup or don’t drink at all.

Instead of going cold turkey, I thought I would try my own weaning schedule. If that failed, cold turkey was plan B. I’m glad plan A worked. Here’s what I did.

– – – – – – – – – – – –

At 12 months I decided to try a slow weaning process. I figured he would drink from a cup eventually so what’s the hurry. I eliminated 4 ounces a week and then gradually went from bottle to straw cup. I did not mess with sippy’s at all. Of course, some days he had more milk, some days he had less, and some days he got the bottle when he shouldn’t have, but all in all, I stuck to the schedule. Eliminating milk was easy, he didn’t seem to even notice. The hardest part came at week 5 when he didn’t get his bottle before naps, and at week seven when he didn’t get a bottle at all–meaning his night bottle was eliminated. That night bottle put him sleep. It was his lovey. His comfort. It was sad to see that last bottle go (not really, I was ecstatic).

Week one: 8 oz bottle morning/6 oz bottle before nap 1/ 6 oz bottle before nap 2/ 8 oz bottle before bed = 28 oz

Week two: 6 oz bottle morning/6 oz bottle before nap 1/ 6 oz bottle before nap 2/ 6 oz bottle before bed = 24 oz

Week three: 6 oz bottle morning/4 oz bottle before nap 1/ 4 oz bottle before nap 2/ 6 oz bottle before bed = 20 oz

Week four: 6 oz bottle morning/4 oz bottle during day/ 6 oz bottle before bed = 16 oz

Week five: 6 oz bottle morning/4 oz straw cup during day/ 6 oz bottle before bed = 16 oz

Week six: 4 oz cup morning/4 oz cup during day/ 6 oz bottle before bed = 14 oz

Week seven: 4 oz cup morning/4 oz cup during day/ 4 oz cup before bed = 12 oz

Week eight: Available cup at all meals and during playtime for 12-16 oz daily

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Hudson's so proud drinking from his cup

Hudson's so proud drinking from his cup

After two months of weaning, Hudson has officially been bottle free for two weeks now. I can only hope all transitions will be this easy.

Next week I’m finally going to start brushing teeth before bed (I know I should have been doing this a long time ago, but I do one thing at a time). Bottle gone. Clean teeth to come. Wish me luck!

Comments
2 Responses to “Weaning Hudson off the Bottle”
  1. Joseph says:

    Is Alyssa still on the bottle? Does Hudson have a hard time seeing her use the bottle when he cannot? Just curious.

    • pforpeanuts says:

      Interesting you ask. She is still drinking from bottles but she’s never taken to them, so I’m actually going to try taking her bottle away this month (starting today funny enough). I know she won’t complain as she did more complaining drinking from a bottle, my only concern there is will she get enough daily fluids with her cup. Hudson did have a hard time with seeing Ellisa’s bottle, but he’s got to learn that they don’t always get what the other may. I think if her bottles were never around, weaning him would have been even easier. Thanks for all your comments! You’re our number one fan!!!

Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

