A Day in the Life: A Mom of 9 Month Old Twins

One mommy. Two babies. 3 meals a day. Endless diapers. I’m feeling overwhelmed.

You would of thought I had been feeling this way since day one, and I’m sure I was to some degree, but it’s really starting to wear on me now. Maybe mommy adrenaline got me through the first 9 months, or maybe it was because all of this was new and there was no time to reflect. Whatever the reason, being a full-time mom of twins, ain’t getting any easier folks.

And now that I’m supposed to feed them three meals a day (something I don’t do for myself), I feel like all I do is shove food or bottles into their mouths and clean up after them. I mean, how can these little buggers eat so much? And I don’t know about other moms, but my babies can’t seem to eat near the amount the professionals are telling me they should be eating. I don’t think I eat that much in a day. I come at them with a bottle and they look at me like, “For real mom? I just had a bottle. Get that nipple out of my face!” It’s seriously driving me crazy.

Here’s a run down of a typical day. And I should say that as hard as I try to stick to a schedule, each day varies depending on when the babies wake up*. Also, I am NOT a morning person. Let me repeat. I am NOT a morning person. No matter how much I would like to be one–and how hard I try to get up early–I can’t physically do it. I’m just not wired that way. So, we’re on a later schedule than most.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Side note: Who are these women who seem to find time to work out, cook dinner for their husbands, meet up with the girls for cocktails, get their nails done, dress fashionably, do their hair (what?), clip coupons (double what?)  and work full-time (are you crazy?)?! Are they for real or are they trying to make me feel inadequate? I’m lucky if I get a shower in each day. Speaking of, I can’t remember when I last showered. Does the pool count?
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Our Daily Routine:
8-9: Twins wake me up, diaper change, and I prepare and feed them their morning bottle.
Hudson is usually the first to wake up, and if Ellisa’s still asleep, I sneak him out and breastfeed him while trying to catch a few more z’s. Most mornings, he prefers to watch daddy get ready for work instead. Go figure.
9-10: Playtime in nursery.
9-9:30: Pump #1 while watching the twins play.
Don’t ask. Yes, I’m still pumping. This can be tricky as they don’t like to see me sitting in my pumping chair. They usually come over to the edge of their cage and cry until they realize I’m not going to pick them up. It’s either breast milk or attention, and right now I’ve decided that breast milk is best. I swear to end this very soon!
9:30-10: I play with the twins while checking my email/daily schedule/facebook.
Facebook is one of the only ways I “socialize” these days. Sad but true.
– – – – – – – – – – – –
10-10:30:  Breakfast
– – – – – – – – – – – –
10:30:-11: Play time
11:-11:30:
Diaper change and bottle
11:30-2: Nap #1
I’m lucky if they sleep 1.5 hours but allow for 2.5 on the rare occasion that they sleep that long.
12-12:30: Pump #2
12:30-2:  I clean the kitchen, eat my breakfast/lunch, freelance or do house chores. If I have any extra time, meaning the twins are still napping, I’ll brush my teeth and shower (I would say this happens 1 out of 5 work days a week).
– – – – – – – – – – – –
2-2:30:
Lunch
– – – – – – – – – – – –

2:30-3:30: Diaper change** and babies play downstairs in their playpen
I try my hardest to play developmental games with them but tend to find more “important” things to do like laundry. I spend at least 30 minutes with them crawling all over me. I love having this time with them.
3:30-4: Bottle
4-6: Nap #2
Again, I’m lucky if they sleep 1.5 hours.
4-4:30: Pump #3
4:30-6: I freelance, do chores, or blog
I try to consider blogging a chore as it is something I’m dedicated to and try to post new entries twice a week. It’s by far my favorite “chore.” I wish I had an hour each day to work on it but I’m lucky if I can squeeze in 4 hours a week.
– – – – – – – – – – – –
6-6:30:
Dinner
– – – – – – – – – – – –

6:30-7:  Diaper change and bath
7-8: Playtime upstairs in nursery
Charles does a good job at wearing them out by playing ruff with them. When the four of us have time to play together, this is my most cherished time of the day.
8-9: Bottle, read a book(s) and down for bed
While I’m putting the twins to sleep, Charles makes dinner for us and cleans up after the babies dinner mess (Yes, he cleans and is a great cook too! ).
9-10: Charles and I eat dinner and watch a movie
I usually pump after eating–pump #4–and then fall asleep on the couch towards the end of the movie.
12-12:30: Pump #5
12:30-1: Dream feed
This is based on how many oz. they’ve had for the day. Yep, I’m still tracking that. If they’ve had 24+ I don’t offer them a bottle. Most days Ellisa needs it but Hudson doesn’t.
1:00: Bedtime
– – – – – – – – – – – – 

Now you’re probably thinking, when does she go to the grocery store, go for a walk, get out?! Not often. I have an amazing family that is here to help 2-3 days a week and on one of those days, I will take a couple of hours to run errands. Going to HEB has become my “alone” time.

It’s really not so bad. I think the hardest part is that it is the same day in and day out. I mean, will I ever be able to sleep until noon again? I have to emphasis, I love being a full-time mom. Yes, it’s crazy, overwhelming and sometimes down right horrible. But what job isn’t? And what job is more important? More rewarding? I wouldn’t trade my job in for the world.

I would love to hear from other moms on what their schedules are like. Does anyone really stick by the book? And what about the baby that sleeps 14 hours a night. How do you manage to feed them 3 meals and two snacks a day on ten hours? Two of which I imagine are napping. Seems nearly impossible to me.

I’m wondering how different my daily routine will be in three months once they’re a year old. Please let it be more manageable. More consistent. I guess being a stay-at-home-mom is a bit more challenging than I ever thought. When life gives you twins, you make…

 

* Unfortunately, they don’t always wake up together. When they don’t, I try to always get them back on the same schedule. I never let one sleep longer than half an hour more than the other. That usually gets them back on schedule by the next nap. Also, because Hudson is heavier, he tends to stay up longer and nap less. So if Ellisa naps a bit longer, we’re still on schedule.

** I try to wait to change their diapers until after meals vs after naps. This way, I don’t waste a diaper since their diapers get dirty with food during meal time. Plus, someone usually likes to go potty while eating.

Comments
6 Responses to “A Day in the Life: A Mom of 9 Month Old Twins”
  1. kchripczuk says:

    We’ve just hit the 9th month and I suddenly feel like I’m back at the newborn stage again. Both babies are crawling and everything is CRAZY all the time. We have the same basic schedule, but we also have 2 old kids (4 and 6) which really adds a lot to the mix. We’re sleeping pretty well at night, but I’m exhausted all the time. I’m wondering if wesning will help wiht my energy, or maybe they’re going through a growth spurt as I’m feeling like I need to eat all day every day again!

  2. Angelica says:

    Hi!! I’m glad I found your blog! I will do my best to follow it since I’m a twins mom too! also, I’m trying to catch up with my blog (joticas2010.blogspot,com)

    I totally understand what you are going thru! for my the last month has been the worse so far. My mom used to help me with the babies but she left in the middle of Sept. and since then, (even before that) one of my babies (Juan David) started teething and started to woke up at 11, at 1 and at 4 or 5, and from there my day begins. Also, after their 9 month check up and the flu shot, the other baby (Julian Pau) started with episodes of high fever and off course no sleep for me, cause when JD gave me a break at night, Julian would wake up complaint or with fever. With all these came no formal nap times, and lots of fussiness that was draining me… Fortunately, I feel like today is my come-back-to-normal day! they slept last night from 7:30 until 6 and today they have been fine…

    Let me tell you about our “schedule” now… After all this I’m working on getting the nap times “fixed” and hopefully sleep trained within a week (wish me luck!)

    6- 6:30 JD wakes up and makes noises so Julian wakes up too
    change diapers and give them the bottle (8 oz formula)

    6:30 – 8 play time with daddy

    8- 9:30 working on getting them to take a nap. Usually JD sleeps for 30 to 45 min while Julian still wants to play.

    9-9:30 breakfast .. could be cereal or yogurt and right away 4 oz of bottle
    after 10-15 minutes I let them play in their room r play pen

    11 nap time! (working on) hopefully 1 hour and if didn’t take a nap before 1 hour and half

    1-1:30 lunch I make some kind of puree or pieces of chicken, turkey and vegetables or grains…

    2- 3:30 nap (this one is already in place :) )

    3:30 snack crackers or puff things after that play time again or I read to them

    4:30- 5 dinner some times cereal, yogurt, fruit… and 4 oz bottle

    5:30 7:15 play time/ stimulation games

    7:15 bath and the bottle (8oz) and they fall asleep in their bouncer seat and nite nite!

    As you know all this depends of the time they wake up and if I have to go out for something. I don’t have family here but some times I have a lady that comes and help me clean the house and help me take the babies to the park. Other than that, no hair or nails done, not girls night out or friends time or nothing! some times during the weekend we meet with another couple and that’s it for socializing, so I’m with you on the FB as my social life for now.

    I’m still working on their menu as one of them is not good with solids and since I by myself most the time I avoid risks… :( my husband works lots of hours, even during the w/e sometimes he works at home, so I don’t count on him much. Hopefully my mom will be back by the end of Nov and I could have more time for myself.

    ok, I over extended here, sorry! but If you want to follow me blog, or want to keep your sanity as a twins mom and exchange tips and anecdotes we can keep in touch, my email is arueda17@gmail.com I live in Houston and my name is Angelica.

    Have a good one!

    Angelica

  3. pforpeanuts says:

    I should add that we’re at 10.5 months now and their schedule has changed once again. Ellisa’s feeding problems are the biggest reason for the change plus I have to get them to bed earlier so Charles and I can have our evenings back. I’m hoping that if I put them down earlier, they’ll sleep longer. I think I’m pushing my luck.

  4. Joe says:

    I think one thing that would help is to give Charles more work! Tell him Joe says hello!

  5. Sarah says:

    You’re a Super Mom! I can’t believe you find time to keep up with this blog, but I love it! More photos please! xo

  6. Grandpa Tom says:

    I really don’t know how you do it honey…but you are doing such a great job. Just hang in there and don’t be so hard on yourself when everything doesn’t quite go by the book. The peanuts have really come out of their shells and are changing so fast. If you can just get through the next few weeks or months, before you know it, it will be time for school and lots of new adventures.

Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

