9 months today!

Are you serious, 9 months? Yep, 9 months it is and what a month we’ve had.

Both babies are putting food into their mouths–not always successfully–and we’re just starting to try sippy/straw cups. Pool time is a favorite for all and it does a great job at wearing them out. We’re all getting more sleep, except when mommy gets up to pump in the middle of the night, and the twins are sleeping 12 hours straight on average. I wake Ellisa frequently between midnight and two o’clock on low-feeding days (under 24 oz) to get her to take an extra feeding, and of course Hudson will wake up screaming about 2 days a week for no apparent reason. I typically breastfeed him for about 5 minutes until he’s out again. I think he just wakes and wants his mommy. Yeah, I’m a sucker.

9 month

9 months

Hudson has continued to crawl, climb, and crash his way into everything. Just like a boy. We’ve even been joking about Hudson’s “bruise of the day” since he seems to fall hard daily and get a new bruise. It’s impossible to watch both of them all the time! I think this past month he has really been working on language. He seems to understand “mama”, “no”, and bows his head down to communicate “yes” when he wants something. Maybe it’s just me imagining all of this, but I swear he’s trying to communicate. Hudson’s eating has been out of control this month too. I should start feeding him three times a day as he never seems to be full enough and  taking in over 32 oz of milk a day. I even caught him eating a beetle today! Yuk. Good thing he finally got his two bottom front teeth this month. It helps when chewing insects.

Hudson at 9 months

Hudson at 9 months

Ellisa has made some tremendous progress this past month. She’s been crawling now for almost 3 weeks and last week I caught her standing on her own. She’s not far behind Hudson with her gross motor skills and she’s actually on target for her birth age. Go Ellisa! I can tell in her eyes that she’s understanding more too. She’s laughing more easily, starting to have separation anxiety–something every mother doesn’t want to admit they love yet hate–and finally making new sounds. That’s something mommy’s been patiently waiting for. Her new sounds are far and few between but I’m always happy to hear them.

Ellisa at 9 months

Ellisa at 9 months

We go in for their 9 month check-up tomorrow so I’ll be sure to comment about their doctor’s visit tomorrow.

Overall, it’s been a pretty great month. Charles and I are enjoying these bundles more and more every day as they are getting more and more fun. I think between 9-12 months is when we’ll see some big cognitive changes. I’m looking forward to watching my children grow.

Comments
5 Responses to “9 months today!”
  1. den says:

    holy shit Mackenzie, these baby hats you got the kiddos in kill me to no end. i LOVE these babies and want to see them again sometime soon! sorry for the bad language, don’t let the babies read this! but do please give them hugs for me :)

  2. Joseph says:

    Sounds like things are going great! Not sure about the beetle feeding, but it might have a lot of nutrients.

  3. pforpeanuts says:

    Just got back from the pediatrician. Here’s their numbers:

    Hudson
    Weight: 20 lbs, 40%
    Height: 28.25″, 50%
    Head Circumference: 45.5 cm, 60%

    Ellisa
    Weight: 16.8 lbs, 25%
    Height: 26.5″, 10%
    Head Circumference: 40 cm, >2%

  4. Natasha Rice says:

    The pic of them together is ADORABLE! Great job getting them to both smile at the same time and I must say – that is a mighty fine looking hat :)

  5. Sarah says:

    I love them so much! I’m so proud of their development. And I’m so proud of you and Charles for all of your hard work and dedication! Go Hud and Ellie! xoxo, S

Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

