pforpeanuts Inception

It’s about time I explained pforpeanuts and how it came to be. I would have done this earlier but I haven’t made the time until now. Here’s making a short story long.

– – – – – –

When I found out I was pregnant in February of 2010 I of course told Charles that night he came home from work. He isn’t one for surprises, so I just told him–flat out. We didn’t want to tell anyone else until after my first trimester but I couldn’t resist a couple of people.

One, my dearest friend Jennifer. She was visiting from Kansas City the weekend after I found out, so I just had to spread the news. We have been great friends ever since we met in college–my pot luck roommate wasn’t a nightmare–and I couldn’t wait to tell her. I told her over lunch, straight from the airport. She was extremely excited. We found out a couple weeks later that she too was pregnant. We conceived within days of each other. Weird! Having her for support from the beginning was great. And what a wonderful experience for the two of us to share throughout our pregnancy.

Two, my father. He moved to Austin after his divorce and I couldn’t have been happier to have him near. We had grown extra close his first two years in Austin, and I remember him saying when he bought his house in Sun City, “Now that I’ve moved to Austin, you better give me a grandchild.” Of course I knew he was joking, but he was throwing me a hint. I never forgot his off-the-cuff remark, so I was thrilled to surprise him with the good news.

I decided to tell him in a creative way. Charles and I were in Sun City for a day of pickleball and I brought along a little gift. I presented it to him randomly while we were chit-chatting in the kitchen. It’s strange how nervous you get when you tell a parent you’re pregnant but I remember having a bad case of the butterflies. Why so nervous? Anyways, I told him that I had a present for him and it wasn’t for anything in particular. He was already suspicious. I handed him a white box with a red bow and two bells on top (I didn’t realize at the time that the two bells had significance. Remember, this is before I knew I was having twins). He proceeded to open the box to find it lined with red fabric and one little sesame seed sitting on the hand-made cushion. He looked up at me and said, “Do I plant it?” I replied, “No. That is the approximate size of your grandchild right now.” He was shocked, excited, and everything else in between. That was close to when I was 4 weeks pregnant.

Then I went in for my 6 week check up. That is when they basically test your urine and confirm that yes, you are pregnant. During that appointment, the nurse was asking me if I was having any cramping or bleeding. I mentioned that I was cramping quite a bit. She advised me to get an ultrasound just to make sure everything was okay. She explained that the ultrasound would check for a heartbeat. If there was a heartbeat, there was nothing to worry about. I decided to do it as I didn’t want the stress of worrying.

At the beginning of the ultrasound I remember looking up at the screen thinking, what is all that stuff? If you’ve ever had one, you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, there is no way an untrained person would have any idea what they are looking at. It could have been Mars for all I knew. However I was seeing two black “craters” and wondering what the heck was that. When I asked, “What are those two big black spots?” the technician said, “Well, I’m looking into that right now but we’re looking at two eggs.” Two eggs. Hum? I responded, “Two eggs huh? Does that mean I have two babies?” She said, “Well, I’m looking at that now and I believe you’ve got twins. Congratulations!” I imagine I responded the same way almost every woman responds when they unexpectedly hear that. “Excuse me? What?” Of course, the technician repeated herself with a giggle. A wave of sickness and joy rippled from head to toe as I said, “Yeah, I’m not surprised.” Of course I was surprised but Charles and I had always joked about having red headed twin boys, so when I heard the news, it felt a bit expected. I wasn’t sure how I was going to tell Charles this news.

Luckily Charles texted me as I was walking out of the office asking me how everything went. I responded with, “Great. But I have more news.” I immediately got a call from Charles. He said, “Okay, what is it?” When I told him we were having twins he said he knew that’s what it was. I guess we both new all along.

I had to tell my dad–who’s a fraternal twin–ASAP. I asked him if I could have his present back. I told him I wanted to show it to someone. He didn’t flinch. By the time I was ready to tell him, the twins had grown to the size of peanuts. I swapped out the sesame seed for two peanuts and presented the box to him at El Chile during dinner. This time, I said, “Hey, I had to modify your gift some. Why don’t you open it up?” He opened it up and said, “Hum, two peanuts. What’s that about?” His girlfriend Mary Ann was with us and she had it figured out right away saying, “Tom, there’s two in there!” My dad still didn’t seem to quite grasp what was going on. It’s funny how the thought of twins never comes to mind. I had to come out and just say it, “Those peanuts are the approximate size of your grandchildren. We’re having twins!” He couldn’t believe it.

The best part of dinner that night was after the excitement wore off my dad asked, with all seriousness, “Is there any chance you could have more than two? I mean, are you sure that’s it?” We still laugh about that to this day.

Since then, the twins have always been referred to as the peanuts. When I decided to create a blog, I came up with lots of different names however pforpeanuts seemed to fit the bill.

I see many peanuts in the Purma family’s future. I’m talking food here people.

Comments
6 Responses to “pforpeanuts Inception”
  1. Angelica says:

    Loving your stories…. I always wanted twin red headed boys too!!! lol

  2. Krissy says:

    What an awesome story.

  3. Carla Jobe-Partington says:

    Dear Hudson and Ellisa: I am a coworker of your Dad’s at the City of Austin. Ever since I learned the two of you were born, I’ve been extremely excited to meet you. Your story is a very special one and I still can’t wait for the day your Mommy brings you to your Dad’s office so I can finally meet you. You have a wonderful family and I thoroughly enjoyed all the pictures and stories your Mommy has posted on your very own website. Keep up the good work and here’s to the two of you very special peanuts!! Sincerely,

    Carla

  4. Sarah says:

    What an adorable story! I love reading your writing…please keep it up!

  5. Mary Ann O'Gorman says:

    Nice story for the kids (and grandpa) to have for the rest of their lives.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] adorable, and I get to make almost all of the baked goods!  Everyone refers to the twins as “The Peanuts” so the majority of the food at this birthday extravaganza is going to involve peanuts, including […]



Let the peanuts know your thoughts.

